Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Kelvinbridge spires

The spires  at Kelvinbridge, on Great Western Road in Glasgow, belong to Lansdowne Church and St Mary's' Cathedral respectively in a view that is an important part of my past. Though my school, Hillhead High, went to Wellington Church on University Avenue for end-of-term services, there was a time when we used Lansdowne: I think Wellington may have been closed for renovation. And similarly, and rather more importantly to my primary school self, the café we went to for hot orange juice at lunchtime closed on a Tuesday, and we used to venture. very daringly, over the bridge to another,  less familiar café on the east side. 

Lansdowne is a Grade A listed building and one of the major Glasgow landmarks famous for its slender tapering spire.  St Mary's is the Episcopal cathedral and is currently the stamping ground of my friend @thurible ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.