developing small ideas..

By cheralyn

Portraits of Strangers, Street Photography

Today I though I should try something different... stepping out of my comfort zone, hitting the streets with my camera in my hand to have a go at some Street Photography..I would define it as the act of taking photos of people in public urban areas in a candid manner. This means that when it comes to street photography, you don't ask your subjects to pose for you. Instead of asking people to take their photo, Well to start off, it takes guts to take photos of people in public (without asking their permission) 80% having the balls to go out in public and shoot strangers while only 20% is skill. There are many skilled photographers who can capture great posed images, but don't have the stomach for going out and taking photos of strangers. To start I was worried what repercussions may happen to me if I do so. worried that the photos of others I shoot may become belligerent, yell at me, or even call the police. Therefore "normal" people don't take photographs of strangers without their permission-but who ever said that street photographers were "normal" people?...... It definitely isn't for the faint of heart..This was 1st time i have done this kind of photography.. the reasons why I didn't ask for permission... if asking for permission when shooting your subjects alters the way they react to you and your camera

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.