I asked...

...Apothecary7 https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2288431219194464516
if I could use her photo as inspiration.
She said yes.
I was trying to get the power of the sea. I think I got that in the dark sea at the back of the waves. However the waves look more like waterfalls than waves. But it was my first try of waves and sea in encaustic wax!
I was trying to get that green you see in waves as well.
I felt the sky worked as I wanted, and the dark sea, and also the foreground. I learnt a lot doing this 10 by 12 inch canvas with the encaustic wax technique. Only Dinky was used...a very tiny dry travel iron I got online which is smaller than the palm of my hand!

So this is my painting for today for my challenge to myself of a pic every day in 2017.

This is the earliest I have posted a pic (apart from the wee small hours). Now I have tidying to do...yes, I was up very early to do this! And I need a cuppa and a lie down!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.