Kendall is here

By kendallishere

The torment of Taiga

Look how they torment me.

See the suitcase? The tripod? Those are instruments of torture, laid out for me to contemplate. I turn my back on them.

I have conducted my investigations. I know that inside the suitcase is that swimming suit I am so fond of. Water shoes. Flip-flops. T-shirts. Sunscreen.

I am not going anywhere. I am confined to this apartment on the fourth floor for the rest of my life, like my French friend Henri. Only death will bring an end to it. That is my fate.

I hear them talk. I watch. The tall man who is father of the small one that calls me "Bow Wow"--that tall man announced on Saturday night that he is taking his family to Maui on Tuesday night. He is taking his family and his mother. My person is his mother. This all began long before I was born, and I am an old man now. I do not approve. Do they ask me? No.

I don't know what is Maui, but my person grew very quiet to hear it. Her eyes shone. Her mouth hung open for a while. She looked a complete fool. When she caught her breath, she said, "Wow." She was, in effect, speechless. Very unusual for her.

She giggles about this Maui. I have never known her to giggle. She is not a giggling person, but she is giggling about this Maui. Who is this Maui? I think it is some other cat. I think she is embarking on an affair with this Maui. I am abandoned and betrayed, and all she says is "Wow!" This has desaturated me, the rug, and everything. It has turned us green with envy.

They are going to Maui, and I will stay here. The woman from downstairs will come to feed me. She will cast me a few coins of attention and clean my box. But I will have to sleep alone. I will have no computer, no connectivity. I will be cut off from Sallie. I am in love with Sallie, and I will be cut off. For a whole week. While everyone but me goes to Maui.

Such is my torment.

P.S. From Taiga's person: this really ugly green picture just made the Spotlight. I hate it when my ugliest pictures go there. The ones I really like almost never make it. Sigh. It's all maya.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.