Out of the Blue

These days, communication across distance seems to be largely the digital kind - primarily for me, e-mails with a bit of texting. Oh, and the telephone, although these days much of that by mobile phone.

So I was surprised yesterday to receive an envelope with a stamp, and inside it a postcard on the reverse of which was a very nice message from a friend I had not heard from in years. He had used a fountain pen, with beautiful writing in blue ink. He has changed his address, and gave new contact details. I will reply in similar form (although my hand-writing is rubbish, all downhill from the age of 16)

I was interviewed last week, and a clip of that was used in a national radio programme. He had heard it, thus the card. Somehow I appreciate a message sent via this old fashioned technology much more than a hasty text or e-mail. It is tangible, and the image on the card is a fine one. It was drawn I would guess in the 1920's.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.