Drama in the Amphitheatre

The basin below the main peaks of Mount Torlesse is known as the Amphitheatre. I rarely see it with this combination of snow, light and cloud. I had to climb the ladder in a shower of rain to get the shot. Yes, I was careful! Best seen large.

Today is the second anniversary of the first big earthquake. Since then Christchurch has had 11,000 more. Tens of thousands of people are still living in damaged houses, not knowing what is to happen to them. (My daughter, FirehorseMia, is one of them). The Government department that has collected insurance money from homeowners for generations to cover disasters like this has not been able to cope adequately. Many of the insurance companies are using delaying tactics to avoid their obligations.

The old saying was, "As safe as houses." I don't think you'll hear that around here any more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.