Polar Blast

Cabbage tree, Cordyline australis.

Spring is shaping up to be colder than winter. The flailing cabbage tree leaves don't give any inkling of how cold the wind was. I had to get out my merino underwear for the first time since June. Yesterday was so mild I didn't light the fire, but I lit it early today.

Nevertheless today has been brilliant because it began with a surprise package from Edinburgh. DaveH and Meles sent me one of etherghost's small artworks, a delightful piece. They enclosed it in a fine Stewart Bremner card, so it was a double joy. Thank you so much, my friends.


Today is the third anniversary of the first big earthquake, the one that did the most damage in my area. My house was safe, but others nearby were damaged and some have been demolished. This was the quake that began the mayhem in Christchurch. There are still a lot of people waiting to have their homes repaired or rebuilt, waiting for state and private insurance companies to face up to their responsibilities. Meanwhile, the private companies are reporting record profits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.