Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Wildly Adorable Nuthatch

Every day when I see one of the red-breasted nuthatches at the peanut feeder, I wonder to myself... will this be the last day they are here?  And one of these days, I'll be right and they'll be gone.  For now, however, I am enjoying every ounce of cuteness.  Both the male and female were zipping back and forth today, quietly tooting to each other and both very puffed up against the frigid weather.  

If you are a regular visitor to my journal, you may recall that on Sunday, I embarked on a project to "decorate" some of my garden branches with moss.  This is one of them and I think it came out pretty well.  It's positioned near both the peanut feeder and a regular seed feeder, where it provides a handy perch for my little feathered visitors.  I used a hot glue gun to adhere some dried moss to the branch.  And I'd like to point out that if you try this yourselves, you should try to avoid getting the glue on your fingers because they aren't kidding when they say "hot."

Went to visit MIL today but she was having a nap, so I just sat quietly in the chair next to her bed for a while.  It was strangely comforting to just listen to the cadence of her breathing.  

Also had a nice chat with my niece (in-law) this afternoon.  It was great catching up with her.  

The high today only hit 29F/-1.6C with a strong wind that made it feel like 18F.  Brr.  In spite of that, Hubs and I took a (very) brisk walk after lunch - just under a mile because, frankly, it was just too cold.  Tomorrow should be a bit warmer, I hope.  

Thanks for all the kind comments on my post yesterday and for the congrats on my cover photo.  I was so utterly thrilled to have one of my photos chosen for the publication!

Thanks to Cailleach for hosting WildWednesday.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.