Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Tiny Tuesday Results...

I spent an enjoyable hour outside in the hide this morning, photographing lots of unsuspecting (as well as a few suspicious) birds.  and while I considered several other options, I decided on this one just because I like it.  Also, it shows the diagnostic markings of this species particularly well:  the rufous cap, bi-color bill and dark spot on breast.  This one showed up yesterday during the storm which is typically the only time I see them.  And you already know how much I like the hi-key look of birds on a fresh blanket of snow.

So, without further preamble, here are my top picks this week.  Tiny Hearts go to:
V1Ki for a lovely little Monarch caterpillar (you know I have a big place in my heart for these amazing little creatures)
KeenKen for a beautifully shot tiny flower.  I particularly like the use of the thimble for size context
Si_b for the bravery of his tiny cleaners and his masterful capture of them in the act
JDO for a lovely view of some very tiny stamen
Gordo for a most glamourous and exotic beetle

And TT Honorable Mentions to...
Carolinav for a delightful tiny still life with an equally delightful tiny bicycle
Ingeborg for her dreamy image of tiny blue grape hyacinth blooms
KangaZu for and adorable pair of rare tiny white elephants  (really!)
flossie for her caffeine-addicted Tiny Tribe
ShirleyRay for her magical tiny upside-down world

And thank you to everyone who submitted images this week - you blew me away with all your "tiny" images!  Next week's theme will be "texture" which gives you another excuse to get up close to something, to show us the tiny details.  Tag for next week is #tt148.  Next week will be my last week hosting before I turn the honor over to someone else, so make me proud!

Storm update:  It finally quit snowing sometime around 9 last night and my best estimate is that we got around 7-8 inches of snow.   In the midst of the heaviest snowfall in the afternoon, the first Fox Sparrow of the year showed up (only one horrid photo, unfortunately.) Temps are up into the low 40's today, so snow is melting quickly on the hard surfaces; not so quickly on the grass.  Hoping this will be the last storm of the season because I am SO ready for spring!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.