My daily photo.

By kayakgirl

Columbia River Flood Stage

We had sun this morning so I was able to take a walk, however all the trails I like to walk were underwater!  Salmon Creek is flooding over the trail, Frenchmans Bar is flooding over the trail and the Columbia River waterfront trail is underwater.  I walked the neighborhood, did some chores, stopped by my folks house, went downtown to meet a friend for lunch.  I had time after the lunch before heading to the next appointment, so I went down to the river to see the water level.  For most of you who have never seen the river at normal level it will not seem as impressive.  Usually small boats can go under without a bridge lift.  The river is above flood stage and must lift for all boat traffic, this is quite the headache for anyone driving Interstate 5 north or south, the traffic backs but fast.  The speed of the river is impressive right now, I will not be kayaking out there anytime soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.