Let's Dance

It has poured with rain for most of the day. I tried to get some admin done but ended up sparring with BT as my broadband keeps dropping out. :(

I went to Longlands Hide to shelter from the rain and to try to get a pic of a sparrow as today is World Sparrow Day. The sparrows didn't come very close but it's nice to see them, we don't get any at home anymore, they're seriously in decline. 

Even though it was bitterly cold, spring is in the air. My attention was immediately taken by the pair of Egyptian geese above. He was very vocal and they were mirroring one another, almost like the Egyptian Sand Dance. :) Just had to post it again. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bq7DGvfnr3U

The cock pheasant in my extra was doing a different sort of dance, very like the one our pet cockerel used to do. He'd scratch at the ground, drop a wing and then sidle up to the object of his affection. He hadn't any hens so it was either our dog or the women that helped us on the nursery. 

Today's poem is Forgetfulness by Billy Collins. https://genius.com/Billy-collins-forgetfulness-annotated

I can report that that the poem, from a former US Poet Laureate, lends itself well to being read aloud. I recited it to MrQ, who nodded and smiled in recognition throughout. :)  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.