Down The Drain

A day after Thames Water got a £20m fine for polluting Old Father Thames with raw sewage, two of their operatives turned up here to sort a drain blockage out in the road. I was summoned outside to assist as they and MrQ couldn't find the manhole (I've been told I mustn't call them that) on their electronic map.

Thankfully, once I had orienteered for them, they soon sorted the blockage, which is more than I can say for my broadband. I'm backblipping as I noticed that I have a connection - sure it's only a blip. I'll catch up with comments when I have a stable signal.

Today's poem is from The Ancient Mariner Part IV, lines 272 - 287 by Samuel Taylor Coleridge. https://rpo.library.utoronto.ca/poems/rime-ancient-mariner-text-1834

I wonder what the "water snakes" were? "And when they reared, the elfish light Fell off in hoary flakes." Sounds a bit like phosphorescence to me. It's wonderful to see it dripping off one's oars when rowing at night. I didn't know that Coleridge and Wordsworth conceived this poem jointly. Wordsworth left it to Coleridge, realising that he was more in command of the subject matter.      

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.