A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

British Traditions

This is Katie's Taxi Hut next to Russell Square in London. It was restored in 1987 for the Cabman's Shelter Fund. Many of these little huts dotted the streets of London so that Cabbies could grab a good cup of tea and some hearty cooking. This one was presented by Sir Squire Bancroft back in 1901. 

Yesterday I saw some lovely artwork on the internet by a South Korean lady called Me Kyeoung Lee that has inspired the process I have used for this image. I think this could be the start of a new project...

Another fine British tradition is our police. It is a sad day for my old colleagues and the families of PC Keith Palmer and the others murdered today. My old Avatar was 'Keep Calm and Blip On', taken from the wartime poster encouraging us to get on with life during the Blitz. We have seen it before and will again but we will carry on.

I have changed my Avatar to the badge I have on my camera bag. The Union Jack with a thin blue line in the middle. The line is the fragile line of the British Police. It is thin but can never be broken.


Mono Monday 166: The theme for next week's challenge has two titles.

The hard option: FACELESS PORTRAIT

The other option: OPEN

I will explain more tomorrow as I've said enough today. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.