The End

It's not an exciting image but it's certainly meaningful to me.

Today I banked a long waited for cheque from EQC. Some I've paid to my contractor who did some extra work near the end of my repair that wasn't costed. There is some left over which goes part way towards addressing what EQC owes me.

I decided a while back that I wouldn't pursue the Earthquake Commission further. If I hadn't sold I'd probably have taken them to the Disputes Tribunal and I'd likely have done quite well.

I've sold and bought another house and it's time to move on. I'm choosing and that makes all the difference. I can live with the financial loss. It isn't great in the scheme of things and what's most important is that I'm not crippled emotionally or mentally by the Earthquake Commission.

I've been waiting for that cheque and it's definitely easier to have it sorted before settlement date. Who sends cheques? Why hasn't the Earthquake Commission entered the 21st century? Providing them with bank account details makes no difference, they still send a cheque.

I no longer know how to bank a cheque and it gave me much pleasure to rock up to the helpful woman behind the counter and get her help. I told her she was about to make me very happy.

She did. I nearly cried.

I left the bank grinning from ear to ear. It's over. My EQC file passes to the new owner they have an electronic copy already. The claim is settled but if they fancy losing a chunk of their lives they'll never regain reading through 4 PDF files split over 4 emails, they're welcome to it.

Over. Finished. Done. All the tears, the anguish, the arguments, bullys, injustice, good people who genuinely cared and wanted to put things right, the scammers, nightmares, silence, letters, emails, appointments.... All of it, it's over. I am at last free of the Earthquake Commission.

Yay!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.