Two Weeks Today

Two weeks today I sell a house and buy another on the same day and this is my new home.

It's very different to my current home - single level, free standing rather than attached to another unit on one side, just over 2 years old instead of 40 years old, built for the sun, double glazed, and outside of Christchurch city but within commuting distance.

Living in a recently developed subdivision will be very different to living in an older suburb. There are pluses and minuses with the former outstripping the latter for me. I'll miss my local park with it's gracious oaks (maybe not the autumn leaves which sometimes blow into my place), the Port Hills just up the road, older established gardens, and the textures old brick, masonry, and age offers. Driving away I did spot some old gems just down the road. I'm sure to blip them :-)

I visited this afternoon to check some things. Google maps is out of date and has my address as a paddock. My power co has struggled to grasp google maps is not God and if I say there is a house there and I've bought it, then there is a house there. They checked the national register of smart meters but it hasn't been added. I'll email them a photo of the smart meter this weekend and that will give them what they need.

My ISP now has the serial number for the fibre box so that should sort my broad band. Other than that I checked some alarm details for my little alarm man, decided which windows I want security/ventilation stays added to, chose a window for the pope's cat door (blimey, that's an expensive exercise in double glazing!), measured up for a kitchen addition, and checked some other measurements in the garage.

The garden has scope. It's more than I have now and over time I'll put my mark on it while keeping it easy care, interesting, and in parts producing food for me. The garden is a different aspect and drier than what I have now. I'll enjoy looking at other people's ideas to see what works and what doesn't. Other than keeping it tidy and removing plants that are growing against the cladding (a no, no) I'll transform it slowly. There's no rush and good ideas take time.

To the right of the front door is the guest bedroom, and the bit to the right of that is the master bedroom.

I didn't want to leave. I'm very excited and it is indeed a new start :-)

Just 14 more big sleeps.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.