*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

I have the right to be myself

It was week 3 of my self-esteem & assertiveness course this morning. We looked at Transactional Analysis and Communication which I found very interesting. After the break we discussed our personal rights. The ones that struck a chord with me were:

* I have the right to make mistakes
* I have the right to say "I don't understand"
* I have the right to say "no" without feeling guilty
* I have the right to be myself without having to act for other people's benefit.

I struggle to accept these rights for myself, even though I totally accept other people's rights to the very same things.

I didn't say anything during today's session and like the fact that this is ok. There's no pressure put on people. I enjoyed listening to the ladies running the course and some of the people in the group sharing their own experiences.

Met Lurkio afterwards in the Cellar Café. When I arrived (feeling a bit mentally shattered) there was already a big slice of Malteser cake waiting for me and a cappuccino on the way. This pleased me a lot :)

A good, positive day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.