Learning day by day

By EmmaF

Paralympic F11 Long Jump Champion

On our last night in Spain I managed to finally get a ticket for the Paralympics. So today's Blip should really have been Carys on her first day back at school, however I am sure she will understand...

An hour from my station to Stratford and then 2omins to get from station to my seat was impressive. I was just behind the take off board for the F11(Non-sighted) long jump. Great seat for the session. The long jumpers were impressive, running and jumping to their guides voices. However it did call for a certain level of quiet in the stadium and I think if it hadn't been going on the stadium would have been really loud. I can only imagine how loud it must have been on that first Saturday of athletic at the Olympics.

This is Rusian Katyshev of the Ukraine discussing his third jump with his coach and his guide. He went on to win with a PB of 6.46m. The world record holder, Elexis Gillette was second and the charismatic Duan Li took bronze after whipping his trousers off with a flourish every jump and dancing along to the stadium music.

Would have loved to have taken Carys but to take her out of school is more than my life is worth. Would also have loved to have explored tha park too, but school pick up dictated that I had to be back home for 15.20 so as my brother had warned me that it could take up to an hour to clear the park at the end of a session, discretion was the better part of valour. It also meant that I couldn't meet up with a certain Blipgirl and her Mummy., really sorry that didn't work out, but should they drop back into the Capital at some point we can try again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.