A Blip on the Reidar

By reidar

Tardis...

I remember believing this old phone box in the "Glen" Pittencrieff Park, Dunfermline was in fact the Doctor's Tardis when I was a very small boy. One of my earliest memories of being in the park was a visit with my Mum's parents when I must have been about four or five. They took myself and my brother down the Glen while my Dad was at work and I think my Mum ran some messages in the town.

My Grandma had a great idea that we should always look at things but not move about much so the walk was fairly boring and uneventful apart from two things. One was seeing the Tardis and wondering why the Doctor had made it look really old and the other was looking at the bronze statue called the 'Ambition Statue' that sadly no longer resides in the park. I can only dimly remember the statue as a child and I know that it was vandalised on a regular basis so they removed it. Its now in part of Lauder College for 'safe keeping' so that probably means the duration of existence as I would think that if you did put it back it would be attacked again. Such a shame.

Back to the Tardis, I do love the fact that someone has actually written Dr Who on it though. I mean absolutely everyone who walks past it must think 'Dr Who' so to actually write it on like it might not have occurred to anyone is genius or stupid. Maybe both.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.