Leisure on the River Cam

A beautiful day so I went upriver to another favourite area. Here you can see the Pleasure Boat ;Georgina,' where you can book  various trips as far as Ely all year round. From afternoon cream teas to evening dinner with music. Although this is a newer narrow boat I have been on many trips  with my family from the age of about 10. Mainly to the 'Plough' at Fen Ditton, a pub where we would enjoy a treat of lemonade and packet of crisps with a blue twist of salt. The boat opposite seems to be private. In the background is Jesus Green open air swimming pool, opened in 1923 and one of the few remaining Lidos.  Another favourite place which I have used since my schooldays, often climbing over the fence with friends when it was closed. These days any swimming for me is now in an indoor pool. The daffs are on their way out now but still look nice and colourful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.