Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Copenhagen in Edinburgh

After spending yesterday, possibly the nicest day of the summer, inside painting, I was determined not to do the same today. Today was not the nicest day of the summer, but it was sunny and not cold. A quick paint of a few missed bits and bits that needed another coat, but not enough to warrant the full painting gear. And no spills!

I was meeting a friend later in the day and I had a couple of tasks to do in town, so before I went I read a few chapters of my current Kindle book watched the next episode of The Boss. I'm really into these American TV dramas. I watch them online. The Boss is excellent. I started watching Six Feet Under, and liked it so much I ordered the box set in order to watch it on the big screen (ie the lounge wall). It arrived the other day - all six series of it- that's hours and hours of watching!

Off into town about midday. Forgot to bring the residents' parking permit renewal thingie, which was one of my tasks, but I did remember to bring JR's watch which needed a new battery. Four shops and trooping all over town, I had it. Who would think that would be problematic?

Met up with my blipping pal at My Club. Coffee, shortbread, papers, chaps plumping the cushions as soon as people leave. Nice. Today I even saw the steward chap with a wee orange hand hoover thingie, crawling about the floor, vacuuming up crumbs. He did look slightly embarrassed, and didn't look at anyone as he rushed back out. I didn't add to his embarrassment by shouting, 'Come and live at my house!'

My blip is of the Duke of Wellington statue in front of Register House, erected in 1852. The sun was just behind the tower of the Balmoral Hotel, which wasn't too convenient, but I went ahead anyway. The horse's name is Copenhagen. Fascinating stuff.

Had a wander round town to my meeting place with some ex-colleagues. I saw Ben Fogle! I was very quite fairly excited at this.

It's GREAT to hear all the gossip and stresses and strains already evident. SO glad I'm out of it all, but it's great to be reminded of what you're (not) missing every now and again.

I AM enjoying my retirement - have I mentioned that before?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.