Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A painting day. Not as good as it sounds.

Been having a very creative day. Painting. In silence. No radio. No music.

Walls, doors, skirting boards, picture rails... Trouble is, when you start, you have to keep going, because they're all connected and it's very noticeable where the new glossy white paint ends and the old chipped off-white stuff begins. And there's miles of it. And that's just the hallway.

I'm all decked out in an old shirt I bought at the second hand shop yesterday. When I had the Big Clear Out before we went to Oz, all that sort of stuff was thrown out, foolishly. You will always need something you can paint in.

No misphaps so far, apart from paint in my hair, but the white merges in quite nicely.

I've just been out for a Magnum Break, and it's sunny and warm. Good day to spend inside painting! NOT.

I took a walk round the block. They're setting up the cafe for filming this afternoon. What a palaver. Vans, wires, men cleaning windows, lights set up and the actors aren't even there yet. All that bother for about 30 seconds on film. Or it might even be cut.

This wee puppy is very sweet. Although if he was mine he'd have a wee bath and I'd clip the hair around his eyes a wee bit so that he could see. I'd also give the lovely path a bit of a wash.

I'd like a dog. *sigh*

Back home to continue painting. Might as well get it all done in one swoop.

Then there's the bathroom looking in need of a nice fresh coat of glossy white paint.

What have I started?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.