Marcliffe

Aberdeen only has one five star hotel, The Marcliffe, located a few miles tot he west of the city. I have been invited there for lunch today, a pair visit to the hotel.

A couple of years ago I would not have thought I would have been able to come to the hotel in 2017. The owner was looking to retire, it was due to be demolished as it was worth more as a building site for development than as a hotel. That may well still apply. However the owner was persuaded to keep it open, and we saw him there today.

Many celebrities have stayed here over the years, including many famous golfers, but also stars of film, stage and music, as well as politicians from the UK and abroad.

We do not count as celebrities, however I suppose our money is worth as much as theirs. Regrettably this photograph in the lounge is the only one I took in the course of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.