sprung

This afternoon, on my way home from a conference in Dalbeattie, I stopped off at Loch Arthur Farm Shop to stock up on flour, and saw the signpost to Drumcoltran Tower. I've only visited this Historic Scotland site once, and that was about 15 years ago, so I thought I'd make a detour.

The Tower (see extra) is, as it always has been, surrounded by farm buildings. I was the only visitor. I climbed the stone spiral staircase right up to the top, where there is a wooden floored watchtower. In the window was feebly fluttering a butterfly with a damaged wing, no doubt woken by the warmth of this beautiful Spring day. After a quick photo, I scooped it up and took it  out onto the parapet walk where there is a fine view of the countryside. I could see the farmer in his tractor fetching silage to spread on the fields, and an old collie in the farm yard. The trees were full of nesting and noisy rooks. I opened my hand and the butterfly flew upwards and off into the fresh air.

Above the door of the tower were written these words:

"Conceal what is secret; speak little; be truthful; avoid wine; remember death; be merciful."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.