mask

Another beautiful sunny day - Palm Sunday. Four new elders ordained at church and the Annual Stated Meeting and then I cycled home (mostly downhill). I'd taken the car up as I was still feeling tired, and D walked up later to collect it. On the way he did a litter pick, collecting two huge bags of rubbish.

I managed an hour of gardening this afternoon - a bit of weeding and the planting of some spinach and lettuce. 

This mask is hanging in an outbuilding. D bought it many many years ago in an Oxfam shop and it used to hang in the house. It's only recently that I have found out that it represents Rangda, a child-eating demon queen whose battles against the forces of good form the basis for the Javanese Barong dances. I'm surprised our children never had nightmares about her...

More about Rangda HERE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.