Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

The Artist's Hand

Lots of action at the Osprey nest today!  I went over around noon and the nest was empty so I scanned the trees and sky.  I saw three Ospreys flying around together and eventually two flew off and the male returned to the nest.  I stayed around for a while and took a few pictures.  The woman in my blip was sitting at the edge of the pond.  I zoomed in so I could get a look at her painting and decided that I really liked the shot.  Anyway, I left after a while and got busy at home.  I just checked on the Osprey Cam and found that about 3 hours ago the male was still alone on the nest and another male osprey dive bombed him and knocked him off the nest.  Then about 2 hours ago the resident female returned to the nest and Dad still hadn't returned.  She started to call for him and he appeared with a fish for her.  Since then they have mated several times.  There has been no sign of the female with whom Dad had been playing house since before I visited this morning.  I wonder if, when I saw the three Ospreys in flight, she was being chased off.  We'll have to watch to see she tries to come back.  In the meantime, our "lovebirds" have been reunited! :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.