Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

Through a wine glass darkly

using glass as filter
filled with water to the brim
transitioning tree

Markus Hediger challenged us to use filters this week. Not the ones you screw onto your lens, but homemade ones, so to speak - at least that's how I understood the brief. I tried to be a little creative and managed to find and use three different filters.

Here is my first attempt: I filled a wine glass with water to the brim and put it between my camera and the tree I can see through our kitchen window. Of course I turned the shot upside down as the water, acting as a lens, formed a reversed image of the tree and rooftops.

Then I went for the selfportrait you'll find as a first extra. I simply blew warm air on my lens then turned the camera in my direction.

Finally, for the second extra I used... a strand of my wife's hair - still attached to her head! :-) - to take a photo of our favourite pond in the nearby woods.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.