Life, Universe & Not Much

By micro43

Flat battery

This spoilt my planned photo session this morning. No, not a flat battery on the camera, but a flat battery on the electric bike (aka mobility scooter nowadays). After getting up early for the GP the last 2 days, and the exercise of wiring up the railway, I was dependent on the Nano Brompton, but just as I was about to turn into the park for my planned photo session, the battery went completely flat, and I had to push it back up the 'hill' to get home and start recharging the battery. Carrying a spare battery (or 3) for the camera is feasible, but carrying a spare battery for the bike (let alone a car!) isn't practical.

I'm all in favour of electric cars in theory, but for a visit to the Lake District, or Scotland, with an electric car you would have to stop to recharge the battery several times, and the journey would run into multiple days, and overnight stays, not to mention problems of getting recharged while you are there, and the same problems on the return journey. I've visited both of these in the past, more than once, using the train and a non-electric bike, but I couldn't manage that now, even with the electric bike, and indeed I have given up the (petrol) car too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.