Skip's Blips

By Skip

What in the world is a didgeridoo?

A didgeridoo is the oldest wind instrument in the world.  It originated with the the Aborigines, an indigenous culture of Australia. Today, when I was walking the trail in Chagrin River Park, I passed by the fire pit and met Ryan, who was sitting by the fire with his didgeridoo. He was willing to play it for me, and, after listening, I was curious to know more. The "didge" doesn't have any keys and it only plays one basic note. However, a skilled musician can make amazing sounds with it. After talking to Ryan and listening to his instrument, I was curious to learn more, so I googled i! If you would like to hear it played, check out the links I posted on my blog. I couldn't believe the sounds I was hearing. Some blippers may be familiar with this unusual instrument, but, trust me, it is not something I would expect to see along the trail in my neighborhood park.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.