The Daily Record

By havohej

Burial Year Pestilence

Burial Year 'Pestilence' (Adagio 830 Records, 2005)

Brutal metallic hardcore released by Robert, of Zann fame, on his label based in the East Berlin record shop he co-runs with Stefan of Vendetta records.

Burial Year remind me of a lot of bands In Decades Decline shared a floor/stage with in the late 90s/early 21st century. It was a time when a lot hardcore bands were moving away from the macho aspects associated with the genre and were becoming politicised whilst getting even heavier. A new type of crossover seemed to be created where heavy hardcore bands would play with emo bands in support of crust bands and attract a crowd from all corners of the punk/DIY family. It was a great time for gigs at venues like the 13th Note, The Mercat or Studio 24 with collectives like Cold Dead Hands promoting amazing gigs.

As the album progresses Burial Year's take on hardcore impresses more and it really makes me think of IDD and what we were attempting to achieve. Added to this they have some excellent angry, politically driven anti system/war lyrics e.g. 'Tell me why we had to drop bombs on all of their roads home or to safety. Tell me why this guilty administration doesn't have to answer for a f**king thing. Results are in and it's sickening. You'll kill the innocent to feel safe and content.' (Thirteen Knots)

The vocals are perfect, with the odd death metal inflection breaking up the hardcore barrage. The amusingly named Josh Kuntz really delivers the unflinching brutality of Krakatoa/Harvest's Dave Walker which makes him an immediate hit with me.

A fine record which brings a warm glow to my heart as it reminds me so much of some the best times I have ever had with four great friends.

I think this was a present from my German chums, how very nice of them! This must be recommended to Mr Finch.

Peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.