Intact

Adjective
     not damage or impaired in any way; complete.

I came very close to being hit by a large accelerating SUV after work. No, I wasn't biking I was walking across the road on the pedestrian's green light wearing an obvious yellow/orange rain jacket. For some reason the woman driving her poncy new SUV didn't look and give way to any crossing pedestrians. Why is it always the black ones? People just seem to transform into lunatics when they drive a black SUV.

I think we saw each other at the same time, she accelerating meters from me swerved and somehow I leaped on instinct a surprising distance. There was no thought at all on my part. All I saw was the grill and bonnet about to take me out from knees to waist.

It wouldn't have been pretty. I would have been smashed.

The miracle is she missed me but I felt the wind of her vehicle very close to me.

I cried.

But I'm fine. I got home and gave thanks for my legs, body, and head still in one piece, still intact. I went for a run to celebrate my completeness and grinned.

It's a somber reflective hpx tonight and a deeply grateful one.

I am intact.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.