Burano Panel

An early post today.

I spent this weekend printing out, at small size, some of my favoured photos from Burano, a small island in the north of the Venetian lagoon.

The mainstay has been fishing but the island is also noted for its wonderfully colourful houses. I read somewhere that each house is painted a different colour to differentiate it from the neighbouring property. It's also said that the fishermen can distinguish their houses while out in their boats on the lagoon.

The coloured houses are now a tourist draw. If you look more carefully, you will see that the washing hanging outside is colour coordinated. The washing lines are suspended at the same height on most  houses. Even the mops and brushes share not only in the colour coordination but also the style in which they are hung outside.

When I assembled the panel, I inadvertently posted two photos upside down. So easy to do. Just look in the reflections in the canals and windows to see how the world is so easily inverted. Spot the upside down photo.

That's what I call style.

I have a project in mind for this. Those in the know will have a good guess as to what it might be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.