Building Bridges

I returned to the location I visited last week to check out the route of a bird survey. I'd not been able to find one section of the route, but found it with no trouble today. I then spent a lovely hour watching wildlife in this wild, beautiful and little-known park. I'm fairly certain I heard and glimpsed a Ring Ouzel on the way there, and there was a good range of woodland birds. I also saw quite a collection of mammals: grey squirrel, wood mouse, rabbit, stoat.
Talpa alerted me yesterday to a hole in the gatepost I blipped - I wondered if it might to a guidepost hole which were used on packhorse routes, of which there are plenty in this area. The bridge in this photo is a packhorse bridge, although it was moved, stone by stone, from a location higher up the valley an area now under a reservoir. Great that it was saved!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.