LeeAnne

By LeeAnne

One flew east...

... one flew west,
one flew over the cuckoo's nest...

I remember going to the Dominion with my Dad to see One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest. It was when they were showing old reruns of classic movies. This is a classic for me. Jack Nicholson is awesome but halfway through the film, my Dad made a comment that properly made me laugh. He said that one of the characters in the film reminded him of Dave. It still makes me smile now.

Today we said goodbye to Dave. We all hung out way back when... me and all the boys. I can tell you're surprised by this. Boys are fairly simple to hang out with. We had a lot of laughs. A sad day, you don't expect to lose people in your life who are the same age as you. I don't feel any older than I did when I was 20. Two decades on and one of our old crowd has gone. He'd just sorted his life out and things were going well for him. So sad. I've been thinking a lot about his death over the last couple of weeks. I guess it brings into question your own mortality.

It's also made me think about what I'd like(!) to happen when I die. Yes, I'm morbid, of this I am aware but I don't want to shovel all of my friends into some impersonal crematorium. I would like to go up the Glen at Flotterstone (where old Jock had his send off), I'd like a nice clear day, [a still one would be perfect photographic conditions for any of the geeks with cameras who feel the urge to come wave me off] and I'd like people who know me well to speak about me. I don't want some random stranger (no offence to the religious amongst us) but I'm not religious and I don't believe. I believe in the life round about me, the people I spend time with, the ones who care about me, the ones I care about and I want them to be the ones who celebrate my life with my family. Take a picnic, take some wine, have some fun and then send me off to be fried in private. Then I'd like a little headstone (or a tree), somewhere pretty, somewhere my loved ones could come and say hello. Chuck my ashes in and plant me some forget-me-nots and let them spread like wildfire.

This hasn't been witnessed but you can take it as red that I'm of sane mind... ish! Oh... and one other thing, should an undesirable dare to turn up... allow my brother to physically remove it, without care, via the reservoir.

So on that cheery note I'm going to raise my glass to Dave and hope that he rests in peace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.