Bowling over in Oban

Well that's it then! The old 'Harbour Bowl' in Shore Street is being demolished. Except that it's not old - I can't be sure when it was built, but it wasn't a success and has been empty for several years; I don't think a great deal of bowling ever went on there. Funnily enough, when I looked on one 'Leisure to Rent or Buy' website it said 'This property has been removed'! Just a little premature, as my picture shows!

It will be replaced by a Premier Inn and there's already quite a fuss about parking, traffic, all the usual objections. Let's hope it is a good choice!

Not such a good day today. It started off well, but has got more dull and chilly as the day has gone on. I had a meeting this afternoon with a local councillor and the Amenities Officer, who I just happened to know as a former member of Oban Photographic Club, which was handy. We discussed our new group, Keep Oban Beautiful, which they strongly supported, and we talked about what we might do and how we might deal with publicity and education. What have I taken on! Can I go back to work please?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.