Kept in the dark

The weather has reverted to the usual damp and cool today, so while I was out ordering some timber I drove along the Esplanade to take some pictures inside St Columba's Cathedral. I'm not sure if I've Blipped this building before - maybe from the outside - but it's a well-known landmark on the Oban seafront, begun in 1932 and completed and opened in 1959. A temporary church was built before the cathedral - clad with corrugated iron. I found a picture of it and put it on as a extra, though it's obviously not mine, being dated 1900!  The 'Tin Cathedral' was built in 1886 and was demolished in 1934. Part of it was taken down while the new cathedral was begun behind it. My second extra is the opposite view to that in the main Blip, showing the simple stained glass window.

It was very gloomy inside, no lights on, so I'm afraid this is a hand-held picture, taken while leaning on the font! Out of four pictures this was the sharpest, but not too bad seeing as it was taken with a 1 second exposure at f3.5. To get rid of the converging verticals I straightened it up in Photoshop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.