Older but not wiser

For many months on one of our regular dog walk routes, the amount of rubbish on one track has been annoying me. I keep meaning to take a sack and collect up as much as possible but kept forgetting. Today I at last remembered.

The track is through a forest which I think belongs to the parish rather than the state forestry commission. It is closed to non forestry vehicles and goes right through MrB's hunting patch.

I happen to know who the litter bug is. An elderly resident of the village who drives every morning to the Penny supermarket in Erkheim. He collects his bar of Penny own brand raisin and nut chocolate, a small plastic bottle of cognac and at the checkout throws his wallet on the checkout, the cashiers knowing they have to take out the money themselves. Then he goes to the attached bakery and buys a snack.

He then drives back to the village and chooses the sight of his, sitting in the car picnic. The track is one of his favourite places. Once he has finished he sets off down the track, illegally, and throws out his plastic chocolate bar wrapping, the plastic bottle and the bakery paper bag.

I'm not yet sure how I should go about getting the message through. Always a bit tricky in a small community. Perhaps more to follow.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.