Time Out for the Louvre's Vermeer Show

The Louvre is featuring a wonderful group of three exhibitions devoted to the Dutch Golden Age (17th century). I started around noon with the Vermeer show;  after 20 minutes the main lights went out, and we were shooed out into the entrance area.  I stood for a bit, but then gave up and sat on the floor against a wall (first time in years). It didn't take long before I realized I had the makings of a blip in front of me :)  This is the best of about a dozen shots.  The lights were back on after a good half hour. A really superb show, with a dozen Vermeers and ca. 80 related genre paintings (people doing everyday things).

The museum also had a show of 93 drawings by the same general group of Dutch artists, plus a small group of  paintings from the Leiden Collection in New York.   Altogether a real feast of Dutch art, which I adore.  Oh, and the Valentin de Boulogne  exhibition from  last fall in New York was also there. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.