Marygold

By Marygold

Rainy days

After a trip to ikea looking for furniture I decided a quick trip out with the dog would be a good idea, however it turned into a slightly longer than anticipated trek. It was with some dismay that I discovered on my walk that today was the day the local library would close its doors for good. It's hugely disappointing for the local area, both my children spent many happy hours there and would return home with armfuls of books. Well that's cut backs for you.

I thought the heavy black rain clouds might hold off as I hurried towards my next pub but I was sadly mistaken and I arrived home fully drenched with one rather miserable looking dog!
Undeterred I took her out in the dry a couple of hours later and got drenched again ! Looks like I should give up on the weather forecasting job!

My late night excursions last night had me thinking. Normally my route is lit with warm, orange glow street lamps, cascading their light gently onto the pavement below. Different types of lamps light different streets. Smaller roads, with their houses huddled together, have lampposts which are not much taller than the houses. All seems in proportion. Last night I was acutely aware of the council's efforts to save money. New lampposts replaced old. Harsh silver lights burnt into the pavement. Lampposts towered overhead like some monster from a sci-fi film.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.