Spishy

By spishy

You can look at my cockpit up close if you like

No joke, that was this unlikely looking glider pilot's, Trevor, (we are on first name terms already) opening line to me this morning as I set up my tripod behind the barrier.

How can a girl refuse such an offer?! Unlike Squadron Leader Twipod of yesterday's blip, I think Trev is more the Hell's Angel school of gliding... note the long hair and skull & cross bones headscarf.

In this shot Trev is explaining what happens as the glider takes off, although he could equally be demonstrating a bowling move from his stance..... More The Big Lebowski than Reach For the Sky.. If you get my drift.

I think he may have mistaken me for a professional photographer and he suggested that he take me up as a passenger to get some aerial shots. The truth is, that if I could have gone up there and then without having time to think about it, I probably would have done.... but NO; I would have to pay a small fee and they would try and squeeze me in later today.

I certainly wouldn't expect to go up for free but the big drawback for me is that I am a dreadful coward... more cowardly than a cowardly coward from Cowardsville! Plus I get vertigo just standing one rung up on a ladder.

Anyway, after being given, perhaps, a little too much information on how it stays up in the air, what can go wrong and a close up of the cockpit (as promised) Trevor sent me off with the relevant paperwork and price list.

I am now considering it... imagine the blip I could get! mmmmm... will she, won't she? Watch this space, but don't hold your breath. I'm an expert at talking myself out of things.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.