A time for everything

By turnx3

Parrott alley

Thursday
On my way back from swimming this afternoon, I stopped off at the library and then in downtown Montgomery to find a blip. Parrott Alley, depicted in my blip, reflects the name of early merchants in downtown Montgomery. Richard Parrott owned a general store near this alley. The only phone in town in 1897 was located in Parrotts store - they sold everything from harnesses to sugar. I wonder what they'd think if they were to come back today and see the variety of shops there today, a number of them quite expensive, and people walking around talking on their mobile phones! I have blipped the alley before in different seasons, here and here.
It was a very warm but breezy day today, with the mercury topping out at 76F (!), but tonight we are supposed to have storms passing through, and tomorrow will be much cooler.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.