Surprise,surprise!

I had watched a forest of slender leaves erupt beside the daffodils in the large Chinese tub on the patio and thought they belonged to snowdrops that had failed to bloom, so I was more than a little surprised to discover a host of white elfin narcissi appearing at the beginning of the week just as the daffodils withered. I had forgotten that they surprised me by their appearance last year too and the year before that. Perhaps I should be worried.

In the same tub is a rather temperamental Japanese Acer. It throws a tantrum and shrivels its leaves if the least bit of cold wind comes it's way. To pander to its sensitivities it is cosseted by being under the balcony with some shelter from the weather. However this means it does not benefit from any rainfall, and I have to remember to water it regularly.
When it looked more dead than dormant this winter, I blamed myself on bad management, but lo and behold it has decided to grace us with the unfurling of its beautiful dark red leaves. That reminds me, I'd better fill the watering can and do the necessary

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.