Sunshine on Leith

I'm in love...with light!

And since the clocks changed at the weekend, we've been lucky to have so much of it. I do so love this time of year in the run up to the summer solstice.

I have had a cracking good day. You've heard me moan a lot this past year so it's only fair to share the good times too. My colleague and dear friend H is away next week so wanted to celebrate my birthday a bit early. We met in town at our favourite wee deli and she bought me breakfast. It was delicious! We then meandered down to work while stopping in a new café/shop that will soon be hipster heaven in Leith. This is where the light really entranced me...

We did a few hours of work and then she walked home with me (which is a fair distance) to buy me an ice cream. She knows me so well. When we got to the prom we decided to walk on the beach, and because the day had turned into full-on gorgeousness, we walked barefoot on the packed sand. Bliss!

I feel like I had been given treats all day long.

About this time last year I wondered "if we're all pieces of a jigsaw, trying to figure out who we fit with and what the bigger picture is." I didn't know at that point that a few weeks later I would be told that my job would soon cease to exist. By whatever route I came into my present job with this wonderful group of people, I will never know. I am grateful and I feel like I truly fit with these like-minded souls.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.