My profusely flowering Abutilon

I've had a day of being side tracked and so rather happily engaged in unproductive activities. After having a cup of tea the sun broke weakly through the clouds and I suddenly thought of suitable blip for today's Flower Friday challenge.

I moved a few of the tender plants to over winter in the garden cabin and bought a small heater to keep them happy. It has worked very well although I haven't checked the bills.  One of the happiest seems to have been a banana plant I put into a large pot, a present from Pip a couple for years ago, which he gave me as an offshoot from his garden plant. 

The other success is an Abutilon mesopotamicum, one of my favourite semi-hardy plants. After the winter, it has now produced at least a hundred flowers on its many stems, none of which seem to want to fall. This flower variety is not my favourite of the many types produced by Abutilon plants, but it is the most successful I have grown. I might buy another type this spring now I've found a good way to look after them.

The Black-eyed Susan which I brought into the cabin on the off-chance that it might last the winter, has also been very happy and has flowered regularly all winter. I have added a picture of one of it's current flowers as an 'Extra photo'.

Many thanks To Anni (aka Biker Bear) for again coordinating today's Flower Friday challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.