CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Early morning rain drops

After taking Helena to the Shambles market to set up her stall, I returned home knowing Bomble was still hungry. Sometimes he wants a second bowl of food in the morning, at others he just wants to go quickly back to bed.

After giving him some food, I went out to the cabin to replenish bird food in the three feeders. Today I noticed that they were hanging about in the nearby trees and bushes as if this cold weather was increasing their need for extra food. I duly obliged and by the time I'd washed clean one of the main sunflower feeders the ever present drizzle began to turn into rain again. 

I watched the birds rush back to their feeding and I counted at least twenty of them doing so within a minute of closing the back door. I made myself some coffee and tried to photograph birds using a macro lens from the open back door, but my presence wasn't appreciated, so they mostly kept away.

I suddenly thought that raindrops might be interesting to blip, and went down the garden to this shrub which has just developed these pretty hanging flowers. I can't remember what it is called but I always like to see it as it is one of the earliest colourful plants in spring.

It was quite windy so difficult to catch still images of the flowers. I love the drips and if it hadn't been raining so much I might have set up a tripod. Instead, although this a rather high ISO handheld shot, the inverted view through the drip rather appeals to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.