Everybody came

Fujiko Nakaya at Tate Modern. What a brilliant sculpture! Children ran, adults laughed, posers posed, photographers photographed and some people even switched roles.

Then I went inside to the Radical Eye exhibition which I've been looking forward to for ages. There are lots of fantastic photographs and I am very glad to have seen them, but... it didn't challenge me, make me see differently or enthuse me to try something new. I came out thinking I want to do more of what I do already. Perhaps some excellent exhibitions I've seen recently have led me to expect too much.

So I went back out to the Fog for some more fun. (Other blippers' takes on this here and here.)

Then, because I no longer live in London and can't say I'll just pop in tomorrow, I went to Incoming at the Barbican. Richard Mosse has used advanced thermographic weapons and border imaging technology - that can register heat at 30km - against their intended purpose, to create 'an artwork about the refugee crisis'. It was recommended to me and the reviews have been amazing. But... (again). Perhaps I meet too many people for whom this has been reality for me to appreciate it. I know about missiles hitting people's homes. I know about conflagrations in the tents in refugee camps. I know about trying to pump the water out of a drowned child's lungs. Seeing it in an odd sort of ghostly solarisation didn't turn it into art for me.


Black and white in colour 130

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.