My Year in Pictures

By jenny

A week of firsts

First of all there was the double rainbow.

Then the hedgehog.

And now this evening this wee fella!

I've seen plently of them squashed on the road, however it's the first time I've seen a real live one! He was sat there at the start of our evening walk, bold as brass and exactly the right distance from the edge to be squashed!

He didn't move at all initially - and Bill didn't even appear to notice him - then obviously relaxed a little and had a wee scratch of his bottom! Then, after I'd had several funny looks from passing cars as I stood protecting him, I decided it was time to try and move him and actually walk Bill.

Which he didn't want to do at all!

Then he bit me!

Then he jumped.

And then Bill noticed him!

Eventually I encouraged him onto the (relative) safety of the verge and he scampered off into the grass.

And I then had to forcibly drag Bill away.

Bill even remembered the spot where he disappeared when we were on the way back!


Edit:
Should have said he was eeny weeny - body was probably no more than an inch long - so is he a field mouse or a vole?
Update:
Vole! Thanks cancarrier!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.