Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Liza and the ... No Good Very Bad Day*

I've had what humans call a rough week. It started with having what Mom calls "episodes" - times when I'm kind of out of it, she said my eyes were glazed and I didn't seem to know where I was. Then there was a scoot the other day when I went a little crazy, I got so scared and anxious and Mom said it seemed like I was hallucinating. It took a long time to calm down. She got really scared and took me to the Vet.

The Vet seems like a really cool place at first! There are the most delicious smells in the waiting room! Dogs and cats! And the people there are really nice, they give me treats and ear rubs and tell me how cute I am! But then. It gets to be not very cool. First they stuck a thing up my butt to see what my temperature was. Such indignity! Then they took me to a back room to get some blood from me to send to the Lab. The Lab?! What would a Labrador want with my blood anyway?! Ewww. Well, they couldn't get enough blood 'cause I squirmed and wiggled too much. It was worse than getting my nails cut! I thought we were done then, but NO.

Mom took me back again yesterday to see if they could get more blood for the Labrador. (I still don't get it.) This time she stayed with me, but I still wiggled and squirmed too much, so SHE LEFT ME THERE! And they must have given me some kind of drug, 'cause I got very very sleepy after a while, and I kind of vaguely remember they took some more blood, and then I went home, but I couldn't keep my eyes open for the longest time. I was so sleepy I couldn't even get up to go outside and I peed on the couch and I haven't done that for a very long time, I was so embarrassed, but I couldn't help it, really. And I was so hungry I hadn't eaten all day, cause I had to have an empty stomach for the Vet, but even though I was hungry I couldn't eat for the longest time.

We went for a scoot this morning, but I was moving pretty slow. Mom said I could set the pace since I'm still recovering from my trauma. She said we should have the results from the Labrador today, so maybe we'll figure out why I'm having these funny episodes. Or why the Labrador wants my blood.

Now my moms are talking about going away for the weekend, something about a wedding and they're leaving me behind this time. But I get to stay with Kara and Roosevelt, the Giant Cat. It will be an adventure - but I think my moms will worry about me.

P.S. I'm not trying to hide in this photo. I love long grass - it's full of yummy smells and it feels good against my skin, it kind of tickles. I walk through it whenever I can on our scoots!


*After Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.