Summer - 1965

Dear Diary,

Well, stick a fork in me, I'm done!  Nearly 18 inches of snow fell yesterday and I am well and truly buried alive in here.  The sad news is another storm is on its way Tuesday, 5-8 inches more!  I can't believe it is April, it feels more like January.  So you will excuse me if I indulge in a little escapism this morning with this old photograph. 

That is my back yard at my childhood home.  Dad had a tractor that all us kids loved to drive and ride around in.  Here, Barbara is driving (not really a cousin but I think of her as one) and Patti and her young daughter Martha are enjoying the ride.  I sent this photograph to Barbara and she said some of her happiest memories as a child were days spent at our house (they always called it the farm) in Hudson.

We would make daisy chain wreaths from those flowers growing in the field.  Patti was my dear Auntie's daughter and at Auntie's funeral all her grandchildren wore daisy wreaths in their hair.  It wasn't easy to do that since she died in late December but the florist was able to pull it off.

So, it may be winter outside but right now in here it is a warm summer day with a field of daisies blowing in the gentle breeze.  Isn't memory the greatest thing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.