a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Landscape with balloon

Not an entirely successful day photographically today, as I only managed this one shot that I am even tolerably happy with.  

This is the view from Kelson Roundhill looking south and slightly west to the edge of the Mendips.

Cathy and I set off for a walk after lunch this afternoon to the nearby Kelston Roundhill.  It was a beautifully sunny afternoon, and felt really quite warm, particularly when walking uphill ;-). There was plenty of wildlife to see and hear, although none of it making it particularly easy for the photographer.  

I saw a white butterfly with black markings on the wingtips settle on a dandelion head.  I carefully sneaked up on it, composed my shot  focussed and shot.  Only to realise once it had flown away that I had completely made a mess of the photos.  I thought I had checked my settings, but it was only then that I realised I'd been shooting at f2.8.  The wingtips were fabulously detailed and in focus, but sadly the rest was just a blur.   

As we were on our way back Cathy noticed that she no longer had the scarf that she'd stuffed into one pocket.  Cathy was a little upset about that, so leaving the camera behind I reclimbed the hill to look for the scarf.  Fortunately I found it, and it wasn't quite all the way back up the hill ... still I've definitely earned some brownie points.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.