Evening flight for a hot air balloon

I saw a large high flying hot air balloon when driving to pick Helena up late this afternoon.  I stopped the car in a lay-by and snapped a few images as it was the first I'd seen this year.  We often get balloons flying around our area as the views are spectacular apparently.

When we got home Helena retired to enjoy the sun in the cabin and I made her a cup of tea. When I was standing by the cabin enjoying the views I saw another balloon flying close to the ground in the far distance over Minchinhampton Common. I got my camera from the house and caught it as it started to ascend again, having nearly grounded on the common. Now I've looked more closely at the image I can see that the balloon has a person suspended underneath it in a single seat, rather than the normal wicker basket. I'm now wondering how the burner works, which it certainly must have done as whilst taking this shot the balloon climbed very steeply and stopped its fast horizontal movement.  Obviously it caught a different current of air.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.